Heart Check

Today as I meditated on Luke 12:35-48 I began to feel God probing me…slightly nudging me…to acknowledge that I needed a heart check this morning. Am I really ready for the Lord’s return? Am I waiting in hopeful expectation for it to happen any day? Am I as excited about His Coming as I am an upcoming date or the season return of Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal? Sadly, I must admit that I am not. I don’t feel it’s possible to live in a state of perpetual excitement. We all have our good and bad days. Although, I do feel that the Lord’s pending return should never be far from my mind and a spark of excitement and expectation should always surface when I think of it. I can get so trapped and focused with the business of the day that I forget to remember. Make sense?

But what does waiting and ready for the Lord’s pending return look like? How can I apply that to my everyday life?

Well, people who are ready for their Lord’s return are (1) not hypocritical but sincere (Luke 12:1 “Meanwhile, the crowds grew until thousands were milling about and stepping on each other. Jesus turned first to his disciples and warned them, “Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees—their hypocrisy.”), (2) not fearful but ready to witness (Luke 12:4-9 “Dear friends, don’t be afraid of those who want to kill your body; they cannot do any more to you after that. But I’ll tell you whom to fear. Fear God, who has the power to kill you and then throw you into hell. Yes, he’s the one to fear. What is the price of five sparrows—two copper coins? Yet God does not forget a single one of them. And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows. I tell you the truth, everyone who acknowledges me publicly here on earth, the Son of Manwill also acknowledge in the presence of God’s angels. But anyone who denies me here on earth will be denied before God’s angels.”), (3) are not worried but trusting (Luke 12:25-26 “ Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? And if worry can’t accomplish a little thing like that, what’s the use of worrying over bigger things?”), (4) not greedy but generous (Luke 12:34 “Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.”), and (5) not lazy but diligent (Luke 12:37 “The servants who are ready and waiting for his return will be rewarded. I tell you the truth, he himself will seat them, put on an apron, and serve them as they sit and eat!”).

May your life be more like Christ’s so that when He comes, you will be ready to greet Him joyfully.

God  bless you.Image

2 thoughts on “Heart Check

Leave a Reply

