The Little Things

As I was on the train this morning, setting dates in my calendar and jotting down notes on my “To Do” list, I made a note of some very important ending dates. The last day of the group I run with the kids is May 2 and so is the last day of my internship. The last day that my son will be 8 years old is May 5th when the big boy turns 9 years old. Next, the last day of my final semester as an MSW student is May 15th. Lastly, the final chapter of my academic career (close friends tease me and call me a “Professional Student” lol) will be May 31st when I graduate with my Master’s Degree in Social Work.

This has been a long time coming but as I reflected on the big milestones, I started thinking about the “little things.” Like God granting me the strength, the energy, the determination to get up everyday to complete the tasks He set for me. Like all the people who have supported me while I was on this journey emotionally, financially and spiritually. Like all the friends who understood when I had to miss a birthday party or could never hang out. Like my mom, who has been more of a support than she will ever know. Like my son, who is SO good, SO understanding and SO smart. These “little things” are what enabled me to achieve these milestones. I couldn’t do any of this alone. I am so humbled. So grateful. My heart is filled with emotion this morning. As I close this chapter and move on to the next I will not forget to take a moment of pause and reflect on the “little things” because they mean so much.

What “little things” are you grateful to have in your life today?

12 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. We love and are grateful for you too. You don’t know how much of an inspiration you are to those who are watching you along your journey. You are inspiring us all to be Great!

  2. Wow…I am almost in tears…where there is a will there is a way and only god can take you there. I am so grateful for my wonderful husband and all of my children. Grateful for peace of mind, strength, courage, determination, and a mindset to continue to seek God wholeheartedly. God bless you Aisha…congrats on your achievements…keep reaching for the stars πŸ™‚

    • awwww don’t make me cry with you, girl! I near tears myself writing this! I celebrate all that you are grateful for and ask God to continue showing you favor in your life! Thanks so much!

  3. Oh wow, this brought me to tears! It’s the little things……
    I’m so grateful for my life, that I can wake up each morning and choose what I do with my day, that’s a blessing. God has been so very good to me and I just so grateful. I wish you all the very best Aisha and congratulations on your acheivements. Continue to be grateful as you let God order your steps πŸ™‚

  4. Im thankful for ability to see some of the things I have been wanting to do come to pass. I have been so blessed over past couple months and I can see God taking me to a even greater place I’m ready for him to use me for his glory. Great post πŸ™‚

  5. Oh my list is too long, but I’ll will make it short. I thank God for being who he is and that’s a forgiving God. I am thankful my son, my family and my friends.I thank God peace of mind and placing me where I need to be and for placing the right people around me.

Leave a Reply

